The Solent Forum

Working in parnership for the future

Who We Are


Forum members are professional bodies such as local government, harbour authorities, industry, user groups, trade associations and NGOs. The Forum is not open to individuals, local residents associations or issue specific lobby groups.

To view exisiting members of the Forum please see our Members Directory.

Please download the Forum's Constitution for more information on how the Forum operates.

Solent Forum Staff

The Forum is staffed by a full time manager, two part time officers and student placements.

Solent Forum Chair
Peter Barham was appointed in September 2014 and will serve for three years.

Peter led for the Environment Agency on flood and coastal defence issues in the Humber estuary. He then worked for Associated British Ports as the Sustainable Development Manager for the company, working closely with the Port of Southampton. He is now a freelance consultant working with Defra and marine industries. He facilitates the Seabed User & Developer Group.

Karen McHugh, Solent Forum Manager
Karen is the Solent Forum Manager and manages the Forum and its staff, finance and business planning. She leads on Water Quality.

Carolyn Francis, Solent Forum Officer
Carolyn is the Solent Forum Officer who leads on the Solent European Marine Site Scheme of Management. She manages the Professor Mike Clark Award, organises Members and Steering Group meetings, and updates the members database.

Kate Ansell, Solent Forum Officer
Kate is the Solent Forum Officer responsible for the Solent News service, the Forum’s websites, Forum publications and the Forum’s research and reports database, Solent Disc. She also leads the Natural Environment Group work.

Student Work Placements
Student work placements are offered mainly during the summer months. However, we sometimes have other short-term requirements. Please contact us for further information.

Past Solent Forum Chairs

Professor Mike Clark, Geodata Institute

Professor Mike Clark served as Forum chair from 2004 to 2014.  The Forum's student bursary award is named as the 'Professor Mike Clark' award in his honour.

Maldwin Drummond

Chair of the Forum from its inception in 1992 to 2004.